Halloween party ideas 2015

As I have explained in my earlier post­­­s that the command referred as Purge given inside the Edit Menu of Photoshop is used to delete corrupt files saved inside the computer’s memory holding the record of different commands applied on the currently opened Photoshop document. We usually ignore this command when Photoshop runs in its normal speed, but whenever during work we suddenly notice that the program has lost its usual speed and started to run sluggishly, we  can handle this situation and restore the normal speed of the program within a few seconds using nothing but the command named Purge. Whenever we put the pointer of our mouse on the option named  Purge given inside the Edit Menu, there is appeared it's sub menu containing a few options including Undo, Clipboard, Histories and All. In my previous posts Purge (Undo) : Makes Photoshop run Faster & Purge (Clipboard) : Makes Photoshop run Faster I have explained the purposes of the options named Undo and Clipboard given inside the menu of Purge and today I am going to explain the third option  that is referred as Histories given inside the same menu.

Title-image-Purge-Histories
In order to restore normal speed of Photoshop you can use the option referred as Histories given inside the menu of Purge

Significance of  Histories in the menu of Purge


By selecting the option named Histories given inside menu of Purge, you can delete the record of all the variations made in the currently created or opened Photoshop document. That record can be seen in the History Palette. In order to understand how to delete the record of all the variations made on the currently opened or created Photoshop document follow the instructions given below:
First of all get inside the Window Menu and put check beside the option named Historiesto have History Palette opened on the main Photoshop window.
select-Histories-inside-the Window-Menu
Option referred as Histories given inside the Window Menu
As soon as you will do so, there will be appeared History Palette usually on the right of the main Photoshop window. As you have neither created nor opened any file so far, History Palette will be perfectly empty at this stage according to the picture below.
Blank-History-Palette
History Palette shows nothing when you have no file opened on Photoshop
Having opened the History Palette, open an image file on Photoshop either by getting inside the File Menu and selecting the option named Open or by hitting CTRL + O on the keyboard.
Command-named-Open-in-the-File-Menu
File Menu of Adobe Photoshop containing various options
As soon as the image will be opened on Photoshop, there will be appeared a thumbnail in the formerly empty History Palette  representing the same image and right beneath that thumbnail there will be seen a small symbol showing the step of image opening according to the picture below.


Open-in-the-History-Palette
Small symbol in the History Palette showing the record about the opening of the image in Photoshop
Having opened the image on Photoshop, select the Crop Tool  by clicking on it in the tool panel or by hitting C on the keyboard.


Crop-Tool-in-the Tool-Panel
Crop Tool is being selected
As soon as you will select that tool, pointer of your mouse will assume the shape of the icon that represents Crop Tool in the tool panel and the setting options  for the selected tool including Width, Heightand Resolution etc will be appeared in the option bar. Here at this point, you can leisurely ignore these setting options because you can achieve perfect result without even touching them. So leave all the boxes given inside the option bar completely blank according to the picture below.
Option-setting-is-unnecessary-for-Crop-Tool
You can leave all the boxes empty in the option bar for the Crop Tool
After that, put the pointer of your mouse anywhere on the image, keep the left button of it pressed and drag it in any specific direction to select the required part of the image which you want to keep intact in the form of a separate image according to the picture below.
Cropping-of-the-image-by-Crop-Tool
Image ready to be cropped
Having made the selection of the required part, hit Enter to have undesired (unselected) part of the image cropped off permanently. As soon as you will hit the Enter Key, undesired part of the image will be deleted permanently and another symbol indicating the step of cropping of the image will be appeared inside the History Palette right beneath the first symbol according to the picture below.


Open-and-Crop-in-the-History-Palette
Symbol named Crop has been appeared inside the History Palette
Then, get inside the Image Menu and select the option referred as Adjustment. As soon as you will select that option, there will be appeared another menu containing various sub options regarding the   image adjustment. Out of those options, select non other than Brightness/Contrast by clicking on it.
Brightness-Contrast-Adjustment
Brightness/Contrast is one of the many sub options of Adjustment 
As soon as you will select that option, there will be appeared a small dialogue box under the head of Brightness/Contrast. In that dialogue box,  put check inside the small check box referred as Preview and set the brightness and contrast for the image according to your wish or requirement (e.g. Brightness equal to 0 and Contrast equal to 35) according to the picture below.


small-dialogue-box-used-to-set-brightness-and-contrast
Put check inside the check box named Preview and set Brightness and Contrast for the image
After that, click the button named OK given in the same dialogue box. As soon as you will hit the button named OK, the recently done setting in the dialogue box named Brightness/Contrast will be applied permanently on the image and in the History Palette there will be appeared another symbol indicating the variation made in the brightness and contrast of the image according to the picture below.
Brightness/Contrast-symbol-in-the-History-Palette
Newly appeared symbol inside the History Palette is indicating the most recent variation made in the image
In the History Palette you can see the record of all  variations made in the image from it’s opening in Photoshop to the changes made in it by the use of dialogue box named Brightness/Contrast . In case, Photoshop starts to run sluggishly during further work, you can purge this record to restore its previous speed by getting inside the Edit Menu and selecting the option named Purge. As soon as you will select the option Purge given inside the Edit Menu, there will be appeared a side menu containing four options including Undo, Clipboard, Histories and All as I have explained earlier. As here you are supposed to purge the record regarding Histories, so select the option named Histories by clicking on it. 
Purge-the-record-regarding-Histories
Sub options of the command named Purge including Histories
As soon as you will select the option referred as Histories given inside the menu of Purge, there will be appeared a small dialogue box named Adobe Photoshop. In that dialogue box there will be seen nothing but a question “This cannot be undone. Continue ?” and two buttons named OK and Cancel. All you need to do here is to hit the button named OK to purge Histories.


Hit-the-button
Click OK to purge Histories
As soon as you will hit that button , the dialogue box named Adobe Photoshop will be vanished from the sight along with the record of different variations made in the document from the History Palette save from the last one (in this case the record of Brightness/Contrast) according to the picture below. 
History-Palette-after-the-use-of-the-command-Purge-History
Record regarding histories has been purged 
So that is how you can purge Histories to make Photoshop run faster. I hope this post will be proved helpful to all my readers. If you want to put forward any question, complain or suggestion for further improvement kindly don't forget to subscribe your comments.

As I have explained in my previous post that whenever we work on Photoshop and apply different commands on our document, Photoshop keeps the complete record of all those commands in the form of separate files in computer’s memory. When those files get corrupted for some reason or the other, Photoshop starts to run sluggishly. In order to restore its previous speed, all we need to do is to delete those corrupted files out of computer’s memory. In order to delete those files, we are supposed to get inside the Edit Menu of Photoshop and select the option named Purge given there. As soon as the option referred as Purge is selected, there is appeared a menu containing four different commands named Undo, Clipboard, Histories and All. Of course, all the commands given inside the menu of Purge are used to delete different sort of corrupted files. In my previous post Purge (Undo): Makes Photoshop run faster I have explained the functionality of the command named Undo given inside the menu of Purge. Today I have decided to explain the functionality of the command referred as Clipboard given inside the same menu.

Edit-Purge-Clipboard
Purge Clipboard and make Photoshop run faster

Significance of the command named Clipboard given inside the menu of Purge

Clipboard is basically a part of computer's memory that holds the  record of the commands referred as Cut, Copy and Copy Merged. That is precisely why, these commands are also known as clipboard options. By selecting the option named Clipboard given inside the  menu of Purge you can delete all the files holding the record of the commands (Cut, Copy, and Copy Merge) which cause the option referred as Paste available inside the Edit Menu. In order to understand the functionality of this option you can follow the tips given below.

Purge the record of the command named Cut


First of all open an image file on Photoshop either by getting inside the File Menu and selecting the option named Open or by hitting CTRL + O on the keyboard.

Flower-basket-image
Flower basket image opened in Photoshop
 After opening the image file in Photoshop, make the complete selection of it by hitting CTRL + A on the keyboard. Having made the complete selection of the image, get inside the Edit Menu  and select the option referred as Cut or hit CTRL + X on the keyboard.

Edit-Menu-and-Cut-command
Select the option referred as Cut given inside the Edit Menu
As soon as you will do so, the image will be vanished from the canvas and there will be left a canvas filled with Background Color  inside it’s sole locked layer according the picture below.

Canvas-with-no-image
After applying the command Cut there is left no image on the canvas
After that, if you get inside the Edit Menu again, you will find the command named Paste available there and ready to be applied anywhere because you have not purged the record regarding the clipboard commands (Cut, Copy and Copy Merged) so far.

Paste-command-inside-Edit-Menu
Paste command is available inside the Edit Menu as the Clipboard has not been purged so far
 In order to purge that record you are supposed to click the option named Purge given inside the Edit Menu to find it’s sub options referred as Undo, Clipboard, Historiesand All. Out of those options select Clipboard by clicking on it.  

Edit-menu-Purge-Clipboard
Option referred as Clipboard inside the menu of Purge
As soon as you will select that option, a small dialogue box will be appeared named Photoshop with a one lined massage “This cannot be undone. Continue?” All you need to do here is to click the button named OK given in the same dialogue box.

This-cannot-be-undone-Continue
Dialogue box referred as adobe  Photoshop
As soon as you will hit the button named OK, the file holding the record regarding the Clipboard option named Cut will be deleted. Then, if you get inside the Edit Menu again, you will find the Paste command unavailable, simply because after purging the record of Cut, there will be left nothing to be pasted.
you-cannot-paste-anything
Paste Command  no longer available inside the Edit Menu

Purge the record of the command named Copy


Open an image file on Photoshop, select it by hitting CTRL + A on the keyboard and copy it either by getting inside the Edit Menuand selecting the option referred as Copyor by hitting CTRL + C on the keyboard.

Copy-command-inside-the-edit-menu
Option referred as Copy given inside the Edit Menu
After copying the image, if you get inside the Edit Menu again, you will find the option referred as Paste available there because you have the copied image saved inside the part of computer’s memory (referred as Clipboard) to be pasted anywhere. But if you purge the record regarding the command named Copy by selecting the option Clipboard given inside the menu of Purge, the command  named Paste will get unavailable instantly  as I have explained earlier.

Purge the record of the command named Copy Merged


In order to understand "how to purge the record of the command named Copy Merged?" add a new layer in the document by hitting the small icon that can be seen right beneath the layer palette and says Create a new layer every time having been hovered over. As soon as you will hit that icon, a new transparent and completely invisible  layer will be added in the document represented by a newly appeared thumbnail in the layer palette right above the locked background layer according to the picture below.

Addition-of-new-layer-by-clicking-the-small-icon
Addition  of new layer is necessary to make available the command named Copy Merged inside the Edit Menu
Then select Rectangular Marquee Tool by clicking on it in the tool panel. 

Rectangular-Marquee-Tool-for-selection
Rectangular Marquee Tool is being selected
As soon as you will select that tool, pointer of your mouse will assume the shape of a plus (+) sign and the setting option for the selected tool will be appeared in the option bar. Out of those options, select New Selection as selection type, set Feather equal to 0 and select Normal as  selection Style according to the picture below.

New-Selection-Feather-0-px-Style-Normal
Select New Selection as selection type and set Feather equal to 0
 Then, put the plus sign shaped pointer of your mouse anywhere on the canvas and draw a rectangular selection by dragging your mouse in any direction while keeping its left button pressed according to the picture below.

rectangular-selection-made-at-the-left
Selected area at the left ready to be filled with any color
Having made the selection, fill either Background or ForegroundColor inside the selected area  (in order to fill Background Color inside the selected area hit CTRL + Backspace on the keyboard and in order to fill Foreground Color inside the selected area hit Alt + Backspace on the keyboard) according to the picture below.
Red-selected-area
Foreground Color has been filled inside the selected area
Then, you will have pixels on two separate layers (background layer and layer 1) clearly visible on the canvas. In order to  copy those pixels in the form of an integrated image  the command named Copy Merged is supposed to be used. Before applying that command select the entire canvas by hitting CTRL + A on the keyboard. After making complete selection of the canvas,  get inside the Edit Menu and select the option referred as Copy Merged given there (the option Copy Merged can also be selected by hitting Shift + CTRL + C on the keyboard).

Copy-Merged-in-the-Edit-Menu
Option referred as Copy Merged inside the Edit Menu
 Having selected that option, if you cast another glance on the Edit Menu, you will find the option named Paste available there ready to be used as you have not purged the record of clipboard option  (Copy Merged)out of the computer’s memory so far. As soon as you will purge that record by selecting the command named Clipboard given inside the menu of Purge, the option named Paste will get inactive inside the Edit Menu because having purged the record of the command Copy Merged you will have  nothing  inside the part of computer’s memory (clipboard) to paste it anywhere as I have explained earlier.

So that is how you can delete the different files holding the corrupt data regarding the clipboard commands Cut, Copy and Copy Merged. I hope all my readers will find this post helpful, if so kindly let me aware of the by subscribing your comments.

Whenever we work on Photoshop and use different commands, Photoshop keeps the complete record of all those commands in its memory in the form of separate files. When these files get corrupted, Photoshop starts to run sluggishly. In order to make it run faster you can use the command named Purge that is given inside the Edit Menu to delete those files.

Purge-Undo-in-Photoshop
Purge (Undo) helps to make Photoshop run faster
 Whenever you put the pointer of your mouse on the option named Purge, there is appeared a menu containing four commands referred as Undo, Clipboard, Historiesand  All. All these commands are used to delete corrupt files which makes Photoshop to run sluggishly.
As the topic is a bit lengthy as a whole, so I have decided to explain only the significance of the very first option  (Undo)  that is found inside the side menu of Purge with a very simple example while the rest of the options found inside the same menu, I intend to save for my oncoming posts.

Significance of Undo in the menu of Purge


This command is used to delete the record about the most recently applied command out of the computer’s memory that makes Undo command available inside the Edit Menu. In order to understand how that option works follow the instructions given below:
Create a new document with RGB color mode and white content specified.

White-content-for-the-Photoshop-document
Blank Photoshop document ready to be used
Then, add a new layer by clicking the small icon that can be seen right beneath the layer palette and referred as Create a new Layer.

New-layer-Completely-transparent
Totally invisible transparent layer is indicated by a thumbnail named Layer 1 in the layer palette
Then fill either Background or Foreground color inside the selected layer by hitting CTRL + Backspace (to fill Background color inside the selected layer) or ALT + Backspace (to fill Foreground Color inside the selected layer).

Light-green-Foreground
Layer 1 no longer transparent
After that,  if you click the tab named Edit in the menu bar to open Edit Menu, you will find  the command named Undo available there and ready to be used simply because  you have not purged the record of the most recently applied command (Fill) so far .

Edit-Undo-Fill-Layer
Undo Fill Layer is available inside the Edit Menu 
 In order to Purge that record, you are supposed to leave the command named Undo given inside the Edit Menu untouched but to click upon the option named Purge given inside the same menu. As soon as you will select that option, there will be appeared another menu containing four options referred as Undo, Clipboard, Histories and All as I have explained earlier. Out of those options,  select Undo to delete all the record about the most recently applied command. 

Edit-Purge-Undo
Select the option referred as Undo to delete corrupted files
 As soon as you will select that command, there will be appeared a dialogue box named Adobe Photoshop. In that dialogue box you will see a question This cannot be undone. Continue?

This-cannot-be-undone-Continue
Click OK to finish the task
All you need to do here is to click the button named OKin the same dialogue  box. As soon as you will click that button the dialogue box will get out of sight and the record about the most recently applied command will be deleted out of the computer’s memory.
After that, open the Edit Menu again and  you will notice that the formerly available option Undo will no longer remain available inside  that menu.

Edit-Undo-Unavailable
Undo command is not available inside the Edit Menu

So that is how you can make Photoshop run faster by using the command named Undo given inside the menu of Purge. I am sure all my readers will find this post helpful, if so, kindly let me aware of that by subscribing your comments.


As I have explained in my earlier posts that it is very easy to transform a colored picture into black and white using Desaturate command. When we apply Desaturate command on any image, there is left no need to change the color mode of that image (whether it be a CMYK image or RGB or Lab image) into Grayscale to transform it into black and white.  All we need to do  is to get inside the Image Menu and select the option referred as Adjustment. As soon as we select that option, there is appeared a side menu containing various options regarding image Adjustment. Out of those options we are supposed to select nothing but Desaturate to discard all the color information out of that image. So that is how we can transform any image into black and white. For further detail see my post Functionality of Desaturate in Photoshop.
As in Photoshop, we work on layers , so there is a possibility that we apply Desaturate command on some layers while at the same time keep rest of the layers fully colored. Sometime , in order to render unique and awesome look to different images, we add some color in some parts of a desaturated image.  Apart from the addition of entirely different color from the one image contained before being desaturated, we can bring back precisely the same color image has lost after being desaturated.

very-important-tool-of-Photoshop-History-Brush
Use History Brush and restore the lost color information in any part of a desaturated image 
As  far as the addition of entirely different color in any part of a desaturated image is concerned, we can do so either by using adjustment command named Hue/Saturation (I intend to explain in my oncoming post) or adjustment layer named Hue/Saturation (I have explained in my earlier post Desaturate command & Adjustment layer named Hue/Saturation). But whenever it comes to bring back the  lost color information in any part of a desaturated image,  we can either apply History Brush Tool in that part of the image or we can use the method of Layer Masks.  In this post I have decided to explain the use of History Brush Tool  in order to bring back the lost color information in any part of a desaturated image ,and as far as the other method  (use of Layer Mask) is concerned, I intend to explain it later.

How to bring  the lost color information back in a desaturated image using History Brush Tool?


First of all open your required image (preferably 8-bits RGB)  in Photoshop. In case your required image is not an 8-bits RGB image (for instance it might be a 16-bits CMYK or 8-bits CMYK or 16-bits RGB or 8-bits Lab or 16-bits Lab image), you can transform it into  8-bits RGB quiet easily. In order to transform any image into 8-bits RGB all you need to do is to get inside the Image Menu and select the option named Mode. As soon as you will select that option, there will be appeared another menu containing different options regarding Modes. Out of those options , you are supposed to select two options referred as  8-bits Channel and RGBby putting checks beside these options according to the picture below.
8-bits-RGB-the-the-most-suitable-image-for-editing
8-bits RGB image ready to be edited
Note : 8-bits RGB is the most suitable color mode for any image that is going to be edited.
 Having changed the color mode of the image into 8-bits RGB,  the next thing which is supposed to be done right after that is the creation of  a duplicate of the locked background layer that contains our image so that we could keep the  original image perfectly intact while make changes in the duplicate of it.  In order to create a duplicate of that layer, hit CTRL + J on the keyboard.  As soon as you will do so, there will be appeared another thumbnail in the layer palette indicating newly created duplicate of the locked background layer according to the picture below.

Thumbnail-represents-new-duplicate-layer
Two identical thumbnails is the layer palette showing two identical layers
Then , in order to transform that colored duplicate of the locked background layer into black and white, just get inside the Image Menuand select the option named Adjustment. As soon as you will select  the option referred as Adjustment given inside the Image Menu of Photoshop, there will be appeared another menu containing a host of other options.  Out of those options, select Desaturate either by clicking on it or by hitting CTRL + Shift + U on the keyboard.

Desaturate-command-can-be-seen-in-the-Adjustment-sub-menu
Various commands inside the side menu of Adjustment along with Desaturate
As soon as you will click on the option named Desaturate given inside the side menu of Adjustment or hit CTRL + Shift +U on the keyboard, the colored picture on the selected layer will turn into back and white according to the picture below.

Locked-grey-layer
Duplicate layer after being desaturated
If you want to keep  the desaturated  form of the image perfectly intact too in the same document along with the original form of it, hit CTRL + J on the keyboard one more time (this time to create a duplicate of layer 1 that contains our desaturated image). As soon as you will do so, there will be appeared another thumbnail in the layer palette right above the thumbnail that is representing layer 1, indicating newly created duplicated of layer 1 according to the picture below.

Two-grey-and-one-colored-layers
Duplicate of the desaturated layer in the layer palette
Then, in order to bring back precisely the same color in any part of the image that image has lost after being desaturated, we need to select History Brush Tool. So, select History Brush Tool by clicking on it in the tool panel.
History-Brush-and-Art-History-Brush
History Brush Tool in the tool panel
As soon as you will select that tool, the setting options for the History Brush Tool will be appeared in  the option bar  and the pointer of your mouse will assume the shape of the currently selected brush in the option bar. In order to select appropriate brush type you need to open brush picker menu. For that purpose, click the small arrow that can be seen beside the currently selected brush in the option bar.
How-to-open-brush-picker
Option bar for History Brush Tool
 As soon as you will click that arrow, there will be appeared a Brush Picker menu containing a good number of options regarding brush types, sizes and styles.  Out of the options given inside the Brush Picker menu , select a soft round brush of any size as at this stage, size of the brush doesn't matter at all and we can change it later according to our need either by hitting } (to increase the size of the brush) or { (to decrease the size of the  brush).  Right beside the arrow that is supposed to be clicked to open Brush Picker menu, you can see a drop down menu referred as Painting Mode. Out of the different options given inside the menu named Painting Mode, select the option Normal and set the Opacity and Flow for the strokes of the brush equals to 100% each according to the picture below.
Soft-round-brushes-of-different-sizes
Select a soft and round brush of any size, select Normal as Painting Mode, and set Opacity and Flow equals to 100% each
After that, in order to make your work easier, zoom the picture in by hitting CTRL + + on the keyboard. Having zoomed the picture in, put the pointer of your mouse on any part of the duplicate desaturated layer (e.g. on apples), keep the left button of your mouse pressed and start to paint upon that part of the image by dragging your mouse. Each stroke of the brush will cause the restoration of the lost color in that part of the image according to the picture below.

Restoration-of-lost-hue
Very first stroke of  History Brush
For your convenience you can increase or decrease the size of the brush simply by hitting } (to increase the size of the brush) or { (to decrease the size of the brush) as I have explained earlier.
So that is how you can restore the lost color information in a destaurated image and give it a unique look using History Brush Tool.
Color-has-been-restored-through-History-Brush
Image with a look totally different from it's original aspect
I hope all my readers will find this post help,interesting and easy to understand at the same time. If so , kindly let me aware of that by subscribing your comments.


Related Posts

Functionality of Desaturate in Photoshop
Desaturate command & Adjustment layer named Hue/Saturation

Desaturate is a command that sucks all the colors out of a colored picture and makes it look like a Grayscale image. In order to find this command you are supposed to get inside the Image Menu and select the option named Adjustment. In the side menu of Adjustment you can find a host of commands along with Desaturate. Though,  desaturated RGB, CMYK and Lab  images look like  Grayscale images but the difference is that you can render awesome look to desaturated images by adding colors in different parts of these images using different tools and commands ( e.g. Brush Tool, History Brush Tool, Hue and Saturation, Fill and Pattern Stamp Tool etc). But as far as the Grayscaleimages are concerned, there is no way to add any color  other than black, white and different shades of gray in those images.

apply-the-command-named-desaturate
Desaturate makes a colored picture looks like a Grayscale image

How to transform a colored picture into black and white without changing its color mode into Grayscale


In order to understand how this command works follow the instructions given below.
First of all open a colored image, preferably RGB, in Photoshop (as RGB is the most suitable color mode for image editing) according to the picture below.
Zara-sheikh-RGB
RGB image before being desaturated
Then, in order to desaturate that image, just get inside the Image Menu and select the option named Adjustment. As soon as you will select that option, there will be appeared  another menu containing various adjustment options including Desaturate.  Out of those options select Desaturate either by clicking on it in the menu or by hitting CTRL + Shift + U on the keyboard.

Image-Adjustment-Desaturate
/Desaturate in the side menu of Adjustment

 As soon as you will do so, the image will turn black and white having lost all the colors according to the picture below.

Desaturated-locked-background-layer
Image on the locked background layer has been desaturated
As in the  image given above, you can see that it was the locked background layer that contained the image we have desaturated and after applying the command, we have lost the original image.If you want to keep the original image intact,  don’t apply the command named Desaturate on the locked background layer. Just create a duplicate of the background layer by hitting CTRL + J on the keyboard and then apply the command named Desaturate on that duplicate instead of the background layer according to the picture below.

Duplicate-desaturated-layer-in-the-layer-palette
Two locked layers in the layer palette
There are many ways through which you can add different colors in the different parts of  desaturated images and give awesome look to  those images. Some of such ways I intend to explain in  my oncoming tutorials.
I am certain, this post will be proved helpful to all my readers. If so, kindly let me aware of that by subscribing your comments.
Diberdayakan oleh Blogger.